Manually Unsubscribe an Address (Text Tutorial)

Unsubscribe a RecordYou can unsubscribe addresses from your account on an individual basis or in bulk. Below are detailed instructions on how to do both. Note that VerticalResponse automatically processes unsubscribes for emails sent out through our service, so you don’t need to do anything with the unsubscribes that we record on your behalf.

Jump to:
Unsubscribe a Single Record

Unsubscribe Multiple Records Using Search
Unsubscribe Multiple Records via List Upload

Unsubscribe a Single Record

  1. Find the record you want to unsubscribe, either by doing a search or by manually finding it within your list
  2. Click the record’s email address
  3. Click the Unsubscribe button within the Actions box in the upper right hand corner of the record
  4. Press OK within the “Are You Sure?” dialog box that pops up

Unsubscribe Multiple Records Using Search

  1. Click on the name of a list that includes the records you want to unsubscribe
  2. Use the Search box to find records that match your criteria for unsubscribing.  Go here to learn more about using Search
  3. Click the checkbox next to each address you want to unsubscribe
  4. Use the “Select action…” drop-down menu at the bottom of the page to choose “Unsubscribe from All Lists”
  5. Click Submit 6. Press OK within the “Are You Sure?” dialog box that pops up

Unsubscribe Multiple Records via List Upload

  1. Click on the name of a list that includes the records you want to unsubscribe
  2. Select the Tools tab from the group of tabs at the top of the list
  3. Choose “Mass Update”
  4. Select the “Unsubscribe from account” option
  5. Browse your computer for the list of addresses you want to unsubscribe. Note that this list should be .csv or .txt format and include only an email address column with no other data
  6. Click “Process File”
  7. Press OK within the “Are You Sure?” dialog box that pops up. Note that unsubscribing an address from your account is permanent (though reversible with the help of our Support Team). We also remember unsubscribes within your account even if you delete the unsubscribed record - this ensures you won’t accidentally mail someone who unsubscribes, even if you delete their record and try to upload their address again later